The “W” word

Wedding.

Let me start by clarifying I have no problems with marriage or mating for life. I love partnership and union and everything like that. In fact, I’ve even found my mate. I’m all set.

Then why am I treating it like a dirty word?

Well, the simple ceremony which once represented two people uniting in marriage has become quite simply a cash cow. As soon as you mention the “w” word prices skyrocket. The wedding industry – indeed it is now an entire industry – is capitalizing on what should be your “big day”. I regret what has happened to the pure and simple marriage ceremony, where a dress wasn’t an overpriced gown and the dessert not a million dollar cake.

And whoever said your wedding day is the happiest day of your life? Um, I wish to object. I have the fortune of living some pretty spectacular days and cannot picture this day (as happy as it may be) topping all others.

An excellent example of wedding traditions gone wrong is depicted in the British film, My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding. Imagine being bruised on the hips or stuck in the car on account of your humongous wedding dress?! Hmmm…. something is not right here.

With so much pressure on the one big day it’s no wonder things are unraveling out of control. What happens if we remove these pressures and put our focus on what really matters – the celebration of marriage vows.

Leave a Reply

