Hotel California

When our small motorboat hit sand on Gili Air I could feel we had landed somewhere different. The relaxation on the faces of the people, the locals. The people who live on Gili Air lead an unhurried and very peaceful life. There are no motorized vehicles on Gili. Try to imagine, if you can, a small island near the equator where the only way to get around is on-foot or via horse-drawn cart. It’s rustic beauty, at its best.

Evidently, I wasn’t the only one who felt this way..

To sign-in at Matahari’s on Gili Air you have to add your name and check-out date to the list. I derived much pleasure in seeing the long line of question marks running down the page – beside every name on the list! We’ve entered paradise and checked into Hotel California!

Such a lovely place. And I thought to myself, ’this is heaven!’ I proceeded to check-in but I never really did leave…

Leave a Reply

