Crash Landing

After 2 months in south east  Asia I find myself looking around my apartement feeling more lost than I did in the strange foreign countries on the other side of the world. A quick look out my window and my heart drops. I fill with anxiety as the familiar outdoor scene stares back at me. The all-too-familiar street corner, where I’ve watched the seasons change into years.

The cold wet weather depresses me. I will pin pictures of south east Asian beaches to the curtains to keep from looking outside. Brrrrr. In an attempt to not be too negative here, I will focus on the positives.

  1. I am in one place for a long time. Having continually displaced myself over the period of  70 days I am quite content to stay put.
  2. I am clean. And will stay clean. One can never really be clean “clean” in countries like Cambodia, Malaysia and Indonesia. There is simply far too much dust and pollution mixed with an oven-like heat. You can be sure after a lengthy shower and good scrub you’ll be covered in sweat again within 60 to 90 seconds.
  3. I don’t have to go out. I feel fully justified (read: not guilty) staying within the walls of my apartment for an indefinite period of time. Right up until Christmas, in fact. That could mean a whole 3 weeks of self-imposed solitude.
  4. I’m pleasantly reminded of basic things such as clean-drinkable water from the faucets. No more carrying a water bottle at every moment, after brushing I can now rinse from the sink and open my mouth in the shower.
  5. The dark, cold and damp weather. Yes, despite depressing me it’s great for getting things done. This type of weather promotes productivity, while its consistently gorgeous sunny twin can be rather distracting.
  6. And last, but certainly not least…  sleeping without fear of cockroaches scurrying inside my sleeping bag.

I suppose it is good to be home – despite the bumpy landing.

Leave a Reply

